download (1)As my husband saw me crying my heart out over the book Me Before You and while trying to make me feel better, he agreed to take me watch the film yesterday.

William Traynor, an athletic fierce businessman that loves his active life, has a terrible accident that leaves him quadriplegic. After two years of physiotherapy, of trying and hoping to get better, he is 20disappointed, understands that there is no way that he could go back to being his old self and makes a deal with his parents that they could have him for six more months. After that he would go to Dignitas where he would be offered assisted dying. His mother desperate to change his mind hires, Louisa Clarke, a local unemployed girl with a weird sense of fashion, as his carer; and that is how everything changes in both Will and Lou’s life.

It is a very moving book and an equally emotional film. Two people that would never have met under normal circumstances affect each others’ lives so much and fall in love with each other with a pure love that goes past appearances and loves the person. Lou loves the man, not the man in a wheelchair; Will wants Lou to be happy and somehow loves her future self, how she will ME BEFORE YOUbecome as he already sees the changes in her in the six months they spent together.

I’ve read a couple of reviews that were quite polemic to the film for what their writers thought was the film’s message regarding disability. All I can say is that I have always been supportive of a person’s freedom and their right to make personal choices (as long as they are not harmful to others). In this case as I am fortunate enough not to be in Will’s position I could never assume to imagine what choices I would make.

It is a moving and romantic film, you get to love the characters and they stay with you for quite some time afterwards. Don’t miss it!

Hypable-Me-Before-You-2

